Let Your Mind Wander

By Eunji Kim

I see Brad Pitt, shirt off, 6-pack abs out, on a white stallion riding towards me, with a sign that says, “Marry me! Angelina Jolie was just a fling.”

In my Vera Wang wedding dress, I step up to the altar. Just as I am about to say “I Do,” I wake up from my daydream and realize there is a puddle of drool on my desk.

I’m sure all of us have been caught daydreaming at least once in class.

Get this: it turns out mind wandering, a subset of daydreaming that is less purposeful, isn’t so bad after all.

Scientists have found that stray thoughts reinforce creativity and help solve problems, according to a New York Times article published on June 28.

This doesn’t mean I’m telling you to daydream pointlessly day and night. In fact, I’m telling you NOT to daydream, but let your mind wander whenever you are attempting to accomplish a task.

If you are someone who is very focused and has trouble letting your mind go, here are some tips to build your mind’s connections:

Girls: think of Brad Pitt’s 6-pack abs. From experience, I guarantee you, it works every time. Not good enough abs for you? Then try picturing The Situation’s abs.

Guys, I have two-words: Megan Fox.

Don’t beat yourself up when you find your mind wandering when faced with a crucial, timely task. Don’t fret. Don’t worry. A little mind wandering may put you on the right path to completing your goal.

Leave a Reply

