I Know It’s Been A While

By: Madelyn Perez

We’ve had some technical difficulties, but now we’re up and running! Since you’ve last heard from me, I’ve decided to cut two of my favorite things out of my diet, french fries and soda. Fried foods are no good, and simply replacing soft drinks with water couldn’t be any easier.

I did have spring break in the time between this post and the last, and I’ll be the first to admit that all that home cooking and eating out was not the best for my body! Now that I’m back, I’ve been hitting the gym as much as I can.

While there, I usually do a basic workout alternating between running and jogging on the treadmill for half an hour, covering about 2 miles. I follow that with 100 crunches on a big green yoga ball. Balancing on that ball isn’t easy—I’m proud to say I only fell off once. I’ve also started to stretch every day and do some pushups, as many as I can (which aren’t many) but I’m working on it! My bridesmaid’s dress is strapless, so I might as well try to tone my arms too.

I hope that I can continue to make my gym sessions increasingly difficult each time and still power through them.

Like clockwork, my cousin (the one who is the bride-to-be) contacted me about what shoes she is getting for the bridesmaids. Every week there’s a reminder of the wedding that is only 76 days away!

It’s a good thing I’ve had a successful start to my reformation of my gym and eating habits. Check out the picture of the healthiest meal I had this week.

This was a quick lunch I picked up in the Ernie Davis Cafeteria—who doesn’t love a peanut butter and banana sandwich on wheat, accompanied with a crisp green apple and an orange slice?

Check back next week to see if I made any progress in the gym and to see another picture of that week’s tastiest (and healthiest) meal that I could put together.

I hope you all have a good week.

Leave a Reply

